My Top Ten Somewhat Corny, Possibly Cheesy but Definitely Favorite Romantic Love Songs


Hearts and love

Heart Songs and Love

Music is subjective, no doubt about it. While looking through my iPod I decided
to create a playlist of my all time favorite heart felt, heart wrenching, happy heart
tunes. Remember I said music is subjective.

When I Fall in Love – Nat King Cole has a smooth and beautiful voice. There’s no
small reason that this ballad superbly scripted is a classic love song. Great for weddings it will have your heart melting.
Crash Into Me – Dave Matthews Band – Ok, is it me? Romantic or Trashy, not really sure, because I never really understood what the heck Matthews was singing about but I like the tune and hey, the lyrics are impressionistic enough to allow the listener to be what you wish the words to be.
Come Away with Me – Norah Jone – the title speaks for itself of dreamy escapism and feelings of romantic love. If you haven’t heard it, its worth a listen.
My Love – Paul McCartney – many critics said this song was hopelessly sappy, but its survived as a very simple tribute to love. As usual Sir Paul McCartney sings with a deep emotion.
Someone to Watch Over Me, George and Ira Gershwin -The birthplace of this lovely and moody
number was an otherwise light and frothy Broadway musical called “Oh, Kay.” The song was originally
fast-paced, but soon moved to the ballad form, in keeping with the lyrics. There have been evocative
renditions of the song every year since it was fi rst composed, with a wide variety of artists contributing
notable versions, including Rosemary Clooney, Doris Day, Judy Garland, Ella Fitzgerald, Frank Sinatra,
Elton John, rapper Queen Latifah (although hers is not a rap version), trumpeter Chris Botti, pianist
Keith Jarrett, blues legend Etta James, Barbra Streisand, and Sting, who sang it over the opening credits
of the 1987 Ridley Scott film of the same name.
Can’t Help Falling in Love with You- Elvis Presley – Although it begins with the line, “Wise men say, only fools fall in love,”the rest of the song makes up for it. It’s the ultimate about undying love that was ever written. Presley combination of strength and tenderness is ethereal in its beauty just like the king himself – a hunk a hunk a burning love.
Stand By Me – Ben E. King – If you read the lyrics to this song, Ben E. King sounds a little needy but it’s ok, no one really ever notices, nonetheless, it’s still a great tune.
You’re the First, the Last, My Everything – Barry White – There aren’t to many singers that could master this cheeseball song but White growls positively burst when he sings the chorus line; “You’re the first, the last, my everything. Flattery will get you everywhere and everytime.
At Last – Etta James, guess who wrote this tune? Give up? Ella Fitzgerald. The quintessential and
probably the best wedding or date song ever. “At last my love has come along, My lonely days are
over, And life is like a song…sadly Etta James passed away a few weeks ago.
Paradise by the Dashboard Lights, Meatloaf not exactly the romance of the above songs, but should
be mentioned as a great tune for your running playlist – over 8 minutes long, its beat will keep you moving and for this reason we love it. “So now I’m praying for the end of time, to hurry up and arrive, cause if I gotta spend another minute with you,I don’t think that I can really survive I’ll never
break my promise or forget my vow, but God only knows what I can do right now, I’m praying for the
end of time, It’s all that I can do, praying for the end of time, so I can end my time with you!

4 thoughts on “My Top Ten Somewhat Corny, Possibly Cheesy but Definitely Favorite Romantic Love Songs

  1. I created a Post for my Bridal Clients with various lists and love song ideas for their weddings.
    I found your Post and attached it to the bottom of my article. It amazes me that Elvis’s ‘Can’t Help Falling in Love’ still tops many lists and is generally always included! And thanks for including ‘Someone to Watch Over Me’ – one of my all time favorites and one I sing/perform every chance I get!
    By the way, I don’t think these are corny or cheesy! 🙂
    Best,
    Robin Kelly
    Essence Entertainment
    (Fellow Blogger from Los Angeles/Orange County)

  2. Robin! Fellow Blogger from Los Angeles! Thank you so much for your comments, after I wrote it I started to think of even more songs that are great – and sadly a few are from the late and great (let us pause for a moment of sad silence) Whitney Houston and Teddy Pendergrass; “Hold me,” a beautiful ballad sung with feeling and emotion.
    And of course I had to have the king on the list, Elvis was great.
    I am sure there are so many more, maybe we can create even a larger list for your brides and grooms to be.
    Thanks for reading and commenting, I love the interaction.
    Cheers!
    Caroline

Leave a Reply

