Your 5 Senses and the Bucket List


New Year’s Day: Now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions. Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual. ~Mark Twain

One off the bucket list - skating in Rockefeller Center with friend Brenda and Nicole

One off the bucket list - skating in Rockefeller Center with friend Brenda and Nicole

My dad was an inventor, he said to me often; “Love is in the details, but don’t let the details complicate the matter.” Easier said then done for some. He also told me that if you throw enough poop at the wall somethings bound to stick, and being a risk taker he was a big proponent of the “nothing ventured, nothing gained” philosophy. As we grow older it is my belief that we start to look at life and the things around us differently, meaning we start to appreciate the simple things. If you haven’t gotten there yet, there is time to catch up and when you do realize that all the material stuff is just stuff-in 20 or 30 years will it really matter? Point – about a year ago I was having a conversation with a friend of mine, he asked me what was on my bucket list. Thinking, thinking, hmmm; “I don’t know, the years seem to get shorter as I get older;” I said. “Maybe a hot air balloon ride, or I’ve always wanted to skate in Rockefeller Center at Christmas time, I’d like to run a 5k or just run at all, I want to start painting again, take bike rides, hmmm, finish my book, wow, the list is getting longer.” Epiphany – write it down!

As a person with a demanding schedule, but the sole creator of my own destiny (everyone is this person), here are some easy tips for your bucket list – caution – think carefully!

Your list is basically tapping into your senses – smell, taste, see, listen, touch.

1. Get up early – I’ve always been an early riser. Morning is the prettiest time of the day, sometimes I get so excited about the day ahead I can’t even fall asleep, but it is in the early morning hours that I get most of the things off my list. I organize my day, get laundry done, feed the animals, take out the trash, clean and then I sit and write. I might not be the best writer but I work on it everyday early morning is when I do my best most creative writing. It started out as therapy, but has grown to clear my mind. Tony Robbins said; “a life worth living is a life worth recording.” Start recording your life. Take photos and incorporate them into your writing. Maybe even start writing your own blog – it’s pretty easy to set up.

2. Read – There isn’t a TV in my house. I am not a slave to Comcast thankfully – for this reason though. When I first moved here I found myself on the couch for 16 hours a day watching Lifetime movies. It was bad. After the Lifetime movie was over, I’d click onto QVC. That was bad. I lived in front of the TV, would purchase movies like crazy from On Demand and I was out of control. I called Comcast and had them disconnect everything. That was over 10 years ago and I don’t miss it one bit! I read a lot and do the other hobbies that I love to do.

3. Listen – create a playlist that makes your senses happy – makes you happy, reminds you of happy things. Don’t listen to negative music it will bring you down.

4. Touch – find a hobby that you love – making pottery, creating jewelry, painting furniture. Soap making to me is an incredible process of mixing oil and water and bonding the two – like life it’s a lesson.

5. Cook – Cook healthy. Take a class, read a cook book, discover a cuisine that you love – why not?

My gift to you today! Sunflowers to make you smile

My gift to you today! Sunflowers to make you smile. I took this photo at the Palm Garden Green Market over Thanksgiving, They're my favorite flower.

One more thought. Start your day with a good walk or run, kayak when the temps get warmer. There is nothing more beautiful than sitting in the surf with dolphins leaping and the sun rising. Gotta go knock off an item on my list. Today is the day to start your list.

Leave a Reply

