Leaving Smile


Take a smileThat phrase; “leaving smile,” conjures up all of the great romance movies like that leaving smile of Ingrid Bergman in Casablanca at the very end of the movie when she walks away from Rick (Humphrey Bogart). It’s a killer. It’s bittersweet. Isla Lund  is a person of honor and respect, so is Rick, and back then in 1942 they made movies where people just did the right things.

In 1978 a song came out sung by Leo Sayer, it was called; “Can’t Stop Loving You.” Phil Collins did a remake of it in 2004, it’s a beautifully sad song. There is a line in the song which says; “you put your leaving smile on.” All lights on it, it’s a great phrase.

As we bid adieu to 2013, I can honestly say that I have my leaving smile on. I have my ticket and my suitcase, we’re all packed and heading to 2014 with lots of love albeit some regrets but I will look back to 2013 for my inspiration. Hey why shouldn’t I? While I thought at one point towards the end of 2012 there was no way out of a very dark place I also knew that I wasn’t going to lay down without knowing where my future was going.

And in the words of Winston Churchill, I was; “never, never, never going to give up.”

When we go through changes we wonder where we went wrong and maybe sometimes we try to turn back time, but when you testify to yourself and see another way, it boils down to seeing another day and another year at face value.

All the changes that needed to happen for that moment happened. This place, this time, this everything was changed forever and it was hard. Somehow I looked into the hole in my heart and it gave me the strength to see where my journey was going and how I needed to carry on for my future. What I needed to do was to take a look through my eyes, open them and realize that there is a better place for all of me, hell for all of us.

The year 2013 had some challenges, but from those challenges came a better understanding of everything that I needed to walk away from and why. How can I ever thank 2013? How could I not stop loving 2013? Shit, it set me free – it gave me my leaving smile.

Image

I will always be there for you – always. Thank you 2013 – you taught me so much.

And in the end the love you take is equal to the love you make – Paul McCartney, John Lennon

2 thoughts on “Leaving Smile

  1. Hey Kiddo, thanks for the heartfelt writing. 2013 ended the way it did because of YOU! You have what my mom called “IT.” You have IT…..scd

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers

